World Festival of Animated Film /
28 September to 3 October 2020
World Festival of Animated Film / 28 September to 3 October 2020
hr | en

MASTERS OF ANIMATION | Georges Schwizgebel Retrospective

Georges Schwizgebel - Lifetime Achievement Award

Animation director Georges Schwizgebel has created a remarkably original body of work. His films are marked by masterful technical execution, a playful approach to narrative, spectacular formalism, and the intermingling of visuals and music. His first film, The Flight of Icarus, launched a career that currently numbers 19 films, which have won numerous awards at prestigious international festivals like Cannes, Annecy, Animafest Zagreb, Hiroshima, Stuttgart, Ottawa, and Espinho.

The Ride to the Abyss (1992) is regularly cited as one of the finest animated films of all time. In 2017, Georges Schwizgebel received the Honorary Cristal in Annecy, followed by the Honorary Award of the Swiss Film Awards in 2018. In 2019, he was awarded the French insignia of Officer of the Order of Arts and Letters.

The Battle of San Romano (2017), Erlking (2015), Along the Way (2012), Romance (2011), Retouches (2008), Jeu (2006), The Man Without a Shadow (2004), The Young Girl and the Clouds (2000), Fugue (1998), Zig Zag (1996), The Year of the Deer (1995), The Ride to the Abyss (1992), The Subject of the Picture (1989), Nakounine (1986), 78 R.P.M. (1985), The Ravishing of Frank N. Stein (1982), Off-Side (1977), Perspectives (1975), The Flight of Icarus (1974)