World Festival of Animated Film /
feature film edition 2 - 7 June 2009
World Festival of Animated Film / feature film edition 2 - 7 June 2009
hr | en

Die drei Räuber / The Three Robbers

World Panorama


Die drei Räuber / The Three Robbers

Hayo Freitag

Germany / 2007 / 79' 0''


Tuesday, 02. 06.,
Cineplexx Centar Kaptol, Hall 3, 19:00 h
Thursday, 04. 06.,
Cineplexx Centar Kaptol, Hall 3, 11:00 h
Sunday, 07. 06.,
Europa Cinema, 11:00 h


Once upon a time there were three fierce robbers. In the dark of the night they walked the roads hidden under large black capes and tall black hats. The first had a blunderbuss. The second had a pepper-blower. The third a huge red axe. They terrified everyone; plundered everyplace they went! One bitter, black night the three robbers stopped a carriage that had but one passenger. The little orphan Tiffany was on her way to live with a wicked aunt. She was delighted to meet the robbers instead. Since there was no treasure to steal, the robbers bundled the girl in a warm cape and carried her away to their hideout.

Hayo Freitag

Hayo Freitag (1950, Wilhelmshaven, Germany) studied Art and Philosophy in Hamburg. Hewon the Best Animation Award at Animafest Zagreb and the Best German Short Film award with his short animation "Mein Bruder" (1985). With his adaptation of "The Three Robbers", Freitag proves Tomi Ungerer’s saying: "Kids do not need children’s books, they need well narrated stories".

Selected filmography: Käpt'n Blaubär - Der Film (1999), Das Pflaumenhuhn (1997)

Awards: Grand Prix for Best Feature Animated Film (Anim'est, Bukurešt/Bucarest),  Best Feature Film Award (Animabasauri),  Second Best Feature Film Award (Chicago ICFF),  Audience Award (Annecy IAFF)

Selected festival history: Rome IFF, Hamburg IFF, Istanbul IIFF, Warsaw FF, Cinekid Amsterdam, Ghent IFF, Sprockets Toronto IFF, Montreal IFF



Hayo Freitag


Animation X


adaptacija romana Tomija Ungerera / adaptation of Tomi Ungerer novel; Bettine von Borries, Achim von Borries


Frank Kruse


Kenneth Pattengale, Bananafishbones


Sascha Wolff-Täger, Lars Jordan


Edson Basarin, Romy Garcia


World Panorama